The Rt. Hon. Patrick McLoughlin MP Secretary of State for Transport Department for Transport Great Minster House 33 Horseferry Road London SW1P 4DR

Phone:

Email: JF EMAIL

Your ref:

Our ref: PR/BLE

Date: 13 November 2015

Dear Secretary of State,

Request for approval to undertake Bus Lane Enforcement in Lancashire County Council's Authority Area.

As you may be aware Lancashire County Council, along with Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council, is currently delivering the Pennine Reach Transport Improvement Scheme throughout Hyndburn and Blackburn with Darwen to improve public transport along the Accrington – Blackburn – Darwen corridor. This project is mainly funded by the Department for Transport.

A part of the final funding bid for Pennine Reach, approved by the Department for Transport in 2013, was the enforcement of the Bus Lanes. The county council are now seeking to implement an approved enforcement system.

The county council is an authority approved to carry out civil enforcement of bus lane contraventions, and has been advised to write to yourself for confirmation of approval to proceed.

Initially the county council is not considering enforcement of other bus lanes within the authority area however this may be something which is considered in future.

I have attached a copy of a report setting out recommendations to me which I approved and signed in my capacity as Cabinet Member for Highways and Transport on X December 2015.

On behalf of the county council I formally request approval to carry out civil enforcement of bus lanes and to issue Penalty Charge Notices for contraventions at the levels set out in the attached report. I would be grateful if confirmation is sent to me and those officers listed at the bottom of this letter.

Yours sincerely

County Councillor John Fillis Cabinet Member for Highways and Transport Lancashire County Council

Enclosed/Attached:

Signed decision report dated X December 2015 entitled 'Pennine Reach: Bus Lane Enforcement'

LCC Officers to receive copies of approval:
Oliver Starkey; oliver.starkey@lancashire.gov.uk
Chris Anslow; chris.anslow@lancashire.gov.uk
Andrew Varley; andrew.varley@lancashire.gov.uk

Paul Riley; paul.riley@lancashire.gov.uk Peter Bell, peter.bell@lancashire.gov.uk